Do-si-do?! Nope!

The do-si-do gives me Social Anxiety.

Yes, I am aware that this is weird, but it’s very true. It is also why I refuse to attend Thursday night Zumba classes. You see, Dear Reader, there is one song during Thursday night Zumba that requires the participants to touch each other. A simple do-si-do done during the chorus of Pit Bull’s “Timber” sends me into a mild-to-moderate state of panic every time.

It’s horrid.

For a several horrifically prolonged seconds I am forced to touch sweaty strangers, linking arms and dancing circles around the floor while others bob their heads in time to the music, throwing sweat droplets around the room like tiny germ-filled bombs. Sometimes (always) it makes me feel like I’m going to be sick.

And even worse are the times when no one chooses me for the do-si-do and I am left alone in the middle of the class, dancing in circles and trying desperately not to accidentally hit people in the face with my incredible lack of coordination.

Even thinking about it now is stressing me out.
*Deep breath.*

My reactions are totally reasonable, always. Or, you know, usually. ... Sometimes?

My reactions are totally reasonable, always. Or, you know, usually.
… Sometimes?

It is the worst ever and I refuse to do it.

Ok, fine. I get that there are worse things in the world than being forced to link arms with a genuinely nice person but I can’t think of any off the top of my head.

Seriously, my mind is drawing a blank.

Alas, I will just have to content myself with alternating between running in place and drinking a perfectly reasonable sized glass of wine on Thursday nights because Zumba is definitely a no-go.

13 thoughts on “Do-si-do?! Nope!

  1. Ok, fine. I get that there are worse things in the world than being forced to link arms with a genuinely nice person but I can’t think of any off the top of my head.

    That’s the troubling part. There are so many worse things and they all rush to mind.

  2. omg seriously why are you me??? I even have a little robot necklace almost just like the one in your pictures!

    Ok well I have never been to a Zumba class because it sounds terribly scary, but I HATE yoga classes where they make you work with a partner. I always try to sneak away to the bathroom without being too obvious.

Leave a Reply

