Angry Doppelganger (Now That’s a Blog!)

I have spent many years practicing and perfecting my Angry Face. I kid you not, Dear Reader, I have invested many hours of my life tirelessly in front of a mirror, scrunching up my nose just so and narrowing my eyes in the most menacing way possible. It’s been a long road but I am finally proud of it!

Or, at least I was.

Late last week I I was having a bad day and sent Kevin a picture of myself seated in my office, my brilliant Angry Face displayed in all of it’s glory. My mood instantly cheered and I was delighted as I waited to find out his reaction to my sheer rage.
(In the past people have always laughed when I got angry. In my 28 years I can count on one hand the number of times my “Angry Face” has been taken seriously and usually that’s more because of the words spewing from it than the narrowed eyes and grim expression.)

Rather than the impressed and slightly terrified text response I had been expecting Kevin sent me a picture in return and it turned my whole world upside down.

My anger was instantly forgotten.

At first I was devastated to learn that I have an Angry Doppelganger out there in the world, that my face is not as original as I had always believed. I was resigned to the fact that I would need to go back to the drawing board and once again practice making facial expressions like a normal person. But after a few days of comparison and, I’ll admit, a fair amount of sadness I began to cheer up.

Now that I have had time to reflect I realize I could not ask for a better doppelganger and all is right with the world.

I am armed with my Angry Face always at the ready, able to be summoned up whenever the occasion calls for it and comfortable with knowing that while it is wholly unoriginal at least it’s a pretty great copy.

Perhaps I have finally found my long lost twin? My family did always joke that I was adopted ... Perhaps it's time to look deeper into my roots.

Perhaps I have finally found my long lost twin? My family did always joke that I was adopted … Perhaps it’s time to look deeper into my roots.

7 thoughts on “Angry Doppelganger (Now That’s a Blog!)

    • I suppose we could just glue them on, but that seems rather cruel.
      Unless we just used Elmer’s glue? It’s non-toxic and I used it to glue my hands together more times than I should admit as a child. Perhaps the Penguin will like it as much as I did?

Leave a Reply

