Subconsciously Boring

Over the last week I have had a disturbing number of dreams about work.

First I had a nightmare where my work phone was replaced with a massive old school rotary phone and my computer was swapped with one from the early 90’s. The image of those large floppy discs piled up in front of me and teetering on the edge of my desk is still burned in my mind.

We used to have one of these when I was a young'en and I have such fond memories of playing 'Clyde' and 'Cosmo' on its glowing green screen!

We used to have one of these when I was a young’en and I have such fond memories of playing ‘Clyde’ and ‘Cosmo’ on its glowing green screen!

It was horrifying.

Then on Thursday night I dreamed about an entire work day, start to finish, and then felt completely cheated when I actually had to go to work on Friday morning. Apparently dream work days don’t count no matter how accurate they are.
(At least that’s what my boss told me. I am still waiting on a second opinion.)

Finally last night I dreamed that I had brought my filing proposal to my boss and she loved it which was awesome and so delightful! Then I woke up which ruined everything. Everyone knows that when you dream about something important going well it is obviously going to be a disaster in reality. That’s just science.

Obviously work has been on my mind so much lately that it has invaded my subconscious and I am not very happy about it. Sure, I love my job, but the 40 hours a week is more than enough thank you very much.

Rj8u22P

This is why I have decided to gift you, dear reader, with a list of “Ten Things I Would Much Rather Dream about than Work” (Or, “Even My Subconscious is Boring”). Hopefully this list will inspire me to be a bit more interesting in my sleep.

  1. Hogwarts, Obviously.
  2. Being a Mermaid.
  3. Traveling with The Doctor and going into the future so that we can binge watch all of the planned Marvel Movies.
  4. Owning a pet Dinosaur.
  5. Sleep. (I figure if I dream about sleep that counts as double the rest, right?)
  6. Being best friends with Felicia Day.
  7. Traveling.
  8. Having my own cooking show.
  9. Finding out I have enough points for 10 free movies on my Scene Card.
  10. Writing a novel AND mastering the art of wearing my glasses on the end of my nose in order to look more sophisticated. (Those two things go hand in hand, right?)

Now I just have to train myself to think about one of these things really hard right before I fall asleep. Wish me luck!

Dreams of Hogwarts, Dinosaurs, Sleeping, and Marvel Oh My!

Dreams of Hogwarts, Dinosaurs, Sleeping, and Marvel Oh My!

13 thoughts on “Subconsciously Boring

  1. Writing a novel AND mastering the art of wearing my glasses on the end of my nose in order to look more sophisticated. (Those two things go hand in hand, right?)

    Yes, these things do go together – but sadly, it doesn’t work well for people with pudgy little noses. Their novels tend to be a bit myopic.

  2. I have the teeth dream too. I’ve always dreamt of them breaking, then I did actually break my front teeth and had to have temporary ones put on. Then they had to be broken off to put the permanent ones on. I can barely talk about it. Shudder.

    You’ve given me a great idea though, I’m going to make my own list and see if I can turn this dream bus around.

    • That sounds horrifying! But think about how much character that must have built (I hate it when people say that to me, yet somehow I can never stop myself from saying it to other people …)
      Best of luck with the Dream Manipulation!

  3. Ok, are you me? This list could have been written by me, except for number 8. But if by cooking show you mean reality disaster show featuring me as a chef, then the list could still be mine… Super funny btw!

Leave a Reply

