The Optimistic Pessimist

I am a bit of a pessimist.

Though, if I am being honest, I really prefer to be called an ‘optimistic pessimist’. You see, dear reader, I believe the glass is half full but I also know I’m going to knock it over anyways.

This is something I work on daily and I hope to one day overcome (both my dismal outlook and my knack for knocking over everything that isn’t nailed down).

Lately my Debbie Downer tendencies have started to take over and I am doing my best to not let them get the better of me, but it can be a struggle. I’ve been pulling out all the stops but things just aren’t looking up quite yet. (Thanks a lot, Brain.)

And while I am a firm believer in the healing powers of exercise and also of eating right (Chocolate Mini Eggs are so wrong they’re right which totally counts) sometimes these just don’t do it for me. I mean, it’s hard to enjoy a nice leisurely hike up the side of a mountain during the beautiful balmy spring days when you just know there are bears waking up and they are probably hungry and you didn’t bring a honey pot to bribe them with so obviously they are going to eat you.

You can't argue with the cold hard facts. Like how cold it is outside at night. And how hard the ground is to sleep on.

You can’t argue with the cold hard facts. Like how cold it is outside at night. And how hard the ground is to sleep on.

And it’s not like I can run fast after all of those damn mini eggs.

Delicious mini eggs! I always knew they would be my downfall!

Not to mention the threat of dinosaurs. Sure they are obviously extinct, but that doesn’t stop me from looking around every corner and waiting for the attack to come. It’s the age of genetic modification and gene splicing, anything is possible!

Dear Reader, in the interest of full disclosure I obviously know I am not *likely* to be attacked by a dinosaur. This last paragraph could be because I have been reading up waaaaay too much on Dinosaurs over the last several months. (Ok, that’s a lie. As if a person could ever read “too much” about dinosaurs! They are pretty much the best topic ever. If anything, I haven’t been reading enough about them!) It’s also possible I just wanted to share the Dino picture featured at the bottom of my post. Man, I can’t wait for ‘Jurassic World’.

Now I firmly believe things will get better, they always do. In the meantime I have compiled a list of facts which I now carry around in my wallet for easy viewing to help cheer myself up. These wonderful insights are knowledge I can turn to when life is bringing me down. I call it “Tools for Overcoming the Apocalypse” (Or, “Things Really Aren’t That Bad”):

  1. Things could always be worse. For example, my name could be spelled “Sara” without the H. *shudder*
  2. At least I got to eat all those mini-eggs!
  3. Even if the plot for ‘Jurassic World’ ends up sucking who cares? It’s not like I’m going to see it for the plot. Sometimes a girl just needs her Dino fix.
  4. I don’t have to outrun the bear, only the person I am hiking with. Note to self: Feed Kevin more junk food.
  5. So what if I can’t make a good carrot cake? It’s not like anyone actually enjoys carrot cake.
  6. Beer is still delicious.
  7. My family is pretty darn cool. When in doubt, call my brother and listen to his munchkins call me “Auntie Amie” … it works every time ❤
  8. Disney! It’s important to remember that I live in a world where it’s possible to watch ‘The Little Mermaid’ and ‘Beauty and the Beast’ any time I want!
  9. Mondays may suck, but they are also the day where ‘Moon Under Water’ offers half price appies so at least there is that.
  10. I am so lucky in so many ways (and not just because I now own a ‘Cricut’ which is every crafters dream).

This list while silly to some certainly helps me to put things in perspective and perspective really is the key when dealing with pessimism.

Until next time, dear reader!

Let me set the scene: You're out and about, hiking through the dense woods when the skin on the back of your neck prickles with an odd tension. Something is out there. Something is watching. DINOSAURS! RAWR!

Let me set the scene: You’re out and about, hiking through the dense woods when the skin on the back of your neck prickles with an odd tension. Something is out there. Something is watching.
DINOSAURS! RAWR!

2 thoughts on “The Optimistic Pessimist

Leave a Reply

