Shake It Off, Shake It On, Just Shake It

It is rare that a day goes by where I don’t get an irresistible urge to shake my grove thang! I honestly believe it’s in my blood, a side-effect of being born of a Jamaican mother. But alas, just because one can do something doesn’t mean one should do it.

Especially when it comes to me and dancing.

Confession time: I am a terrible dancer. It’s true. My moves consist of the Penguin Shuffle (which admittedly is pretty awesome), the Sprinkler, and the Carlton. Sometimes I even try to do them all at once. Other times I just bounce around like I’ve got a bee in my pants, spastically waving my arms while trying to keep my balance and not break something.

This is exactly what I look like when dancing. I magically morph into Zooey Deschanel, blue eyes and all.

This is exactly what I look like when dancing.
I magically morph into Zooey Deschanel, blue eyes and all.

I love it.

I will and do dance to everything, even the music in my own head.

And unlike the time I learned what a terrible singer I am I have never had my dancing skills cruelly thrown in my face. (Thanks, Dad.)

As a complete aside which is sort of still on topic, this is why I love Zumba. Yes, I know Zumba is trendy and is the “it” exercise of the moment, but for once in my life I understand why something is popular. It’s active, it’s silly, and it’s downright fun.

Every once in a while I catch myself adding my Zumba moves to my regular dance repertoire. I’m not going to lie, it never goes well. Somehow that spinning move that goes into a lunge and ends with a bounce just doesn’t transition well into The Mashed Potato. Go figure.

Lately during my internet travels I came across this gold mine of a video. It is quickly becoming my second most watched video on the internet (nothing will ever replace Penguins Falling Down) and I am mildly (ok, extremely) obsessed with it.

Sometimes I dance along with it, screaming at the top my lungs to “Shut Up and Dance”. Other days I stare intensely at the screen, mentally taking note of what dance moves I can lovingly rip off without pulling a muscle. (In the interest of full disclosure I definitely do the second thing more than the first. My eyes are starting to ache from the amount of time I have spent watching this video, mentally absorbing greatness.)

It’s been swell.

And now I wish to share it with you, dear reader, the greatest dance compilation of all time. Please watch, enjoy, and above all, take notes.

6 thoughts on “Shake It Off, Shake It On, Just Shake It

  1. I have a sneaking suspicion the idea for “hot yoga” came from someone watching me dance. Not that I’d describe my dancing as “hot.” But there is a lot of unintentional stretching and some sweatiness going on. Between the two of us, maybe we could open our own studio?

    • I think this is the best idea ever, and obviously very marketable!
      I’ll be sure to have my people call your people.
      As an aside, having only been to one Hot Yoga class and thus consider myself an expert, Hot Yoga is a form of advanced, strangely voluntary torture. I have never felt more awkward in my own body, and that’s saying a lot. I also hadn’t expected Hot Yoga to be so … Hot. (I’m not always the sharpest tool in the shed.)

      • It has to be better than the hot yoguart class I took. It was totally gross. And really messy. And I think someone got food poisoning. Which, on a positive note, did provide them with some weight loss.

  2. Hahaha! I am right there with ya, girl! Elaine Benes is a dance GOD compared to me. I seriously think I was born with two left feet. But does that stop me from ugly dancing my heart out at weddings or in my car or in the aisles of the grocery store?! Absol-frickin-lutely NOT! Shake your groove thang is my middle name. Actually, it’s Joe but same thing really. 😉
    Great post as always!

Leave a Reply

