Ugly Selfies (Now That’s a Blog!)

Ever since I bought my first digital camera in the fall of grade twelve I have been hooked on taking weird pictures of myself. Sure, I will pose if pressed for the occasional pretty selfie, but for the most part I just like to make super awkward faces when I stare into the camera and the digital days have made this all the more easy.

Gone are the oh so nostalgic days of film rolls and eagerly getting pictures developed only to find out that everyone in the picture is blinking except the one person who wasn’t even supposed to be in the picture in the first place and of course they have eyes redder than the devil. Sure I miss the mystery, but who wants to pay for all that wasted film?

Now I can just take dozens of pictures until I finally hit that one shot (usually around number forty) that everyone loves.

Or, you know, I can just make silly faces into the reverse camera on my iPhone when I am sitting home alone and bored with a perfectly reasonable size glass of wine.

Really, it’s the best of both worlds.

To be honest I am not sure where my obsession with silly faces came from. As a child I definitely only did the bunny ears in photos when other people were doing it first (I was a bandwagon bunny-ear-er) and I grew up used to having to smile appropriately when having my photo taken (my Mom was a photographer). Still, this obsession took hold and has shown no signs of letting me go.

It was a day like any other day and I decided to take a picture. I remember it all so clearly, holding the camera out just so when suddenly and without warning my eyes squished up, my mouth twisted unnaturally and awkwardly, and I managed to get the perfect flare in my nostrils. It was glorious.

This obsession has gotten so bad that even when I genuinely try to look nice I just end up doing my “selfie” face which is a cross between a happy puppy and a slightly deranged and overeager customer service worker.

Whatever, I still dig it.

Dear reader, I honestly believe that a silly, funny picture always wins out over the overly posed photos that have become so popular these days. Sure, it’s fun to spend an hour trying to get the perfect shot, but you know what’s even more fun? Actually doing something with that hour!

So smile pretty or smile silly, just smile, have a good time, and don’t stress over ugly pictures!

I spend a lot more time than I should admit making this face.

I spend a lot more time than I should admit making this face.

12 thoughts on “Ugly Selfies (Now That’s a Blog!)

  1. Honestly, everyone needs a go-to silly face. There’s nothing more annoying than everyone agreeing to making the most distorted faces ever and there’s the cute girl that still looks cute with her tongue slightly sticking out. Get with the program, Toots.

  2. Oh gosh, my selfies are the worst! Plus, because I’m just slightly older, I didn’t grow up with selfies being a regular part of life. (I was the last of my friends to get a cell phone and that was sometime in my mid-twenties.) I get self-conscious trying to take one. It feels so narcissistic to me. Don’t get me wrong, I have a few that I like, but for the most part, I avoid the whole process.

Leave a Reply

