The Writer

“You must write every single day of your life. You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks like ladders to sniff books like perfumes and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads. You must read dreadful dumb books and glorious books, and let them wrestle in beautiful fights inside your head, vulgar one moment, brilliant the next.” – Ray Bradbury (1920-2012)

I like to say things like “Impossibly Sad” and “Unbearably Happy”. What can I say? I have a love of dramatic wordplay (and romance novel clichéd phrases). There are just so many beautiful words in the English language and it seems a shame to only use one of them when several will do.

Not everyone shares my thoughts on this.

I am surrounded by people at work and in my personal life who think the responses “cool” and “yes” are sufficient when instead they could be saying “that sounds like a delightfully awesome experience” and “Yes! Of course! Absolutely!”

Alas, such is the downfall of being a writer.

This post, the very one you are reading right now (or skimming, if that’s how you roll) is my 150th post on triSARAHtops. I’m a huge fan of milestones, especially meaningless ones, which is why I have decided to celebrate tonight with a bottle of White Bear Riesling, a bag of ‘healthy’ chips, and by continuing to work on my book.

My book, you ask?!

Why yes, dear reader, I am writing a book!

It’s not a beautiful narrative or a best seller contender (well, I suppose it could be with the likes of ‘50 Shades of Grey’ crowding the best seller list why shouldn’t my book have a go? … Though I suppose I’d need to incorporate at least one spanking to be on par …) but it’s something I am having a ton of fun working on and really that’s all that matters.

As I get closer to my (self) publication date I will post more information for those of you who are interested in learning more (yes, Dad, I promise to let you know when the book is done). But for now, dear reader, this is all I am willing to say on the subject.

Now! On to more important things!

As I mentioned earlier, about 6 paragraphs ago, this is my 150th post. As such I had meant to write something witty and charming and oh so fabulous. Instead I am stuck with this exercise in stream of consciousness writing which I will likely regret almost immediately after hitting publish and start stressing that I have let down my 109 readers (109! YAY!).

But do not fret, dear reader! I will be back in my usual form soon with a few more posts on the Funny Side of (My) OCD as well as a few Valentines Themed posts including my favourite Valentine’s Day Memory (which also happens to be my second worst memory of all time).

Until then, thank you for reading (or skimming. Honestly, I don’t mind.)

With Love,

S.M.R.P

unnamed

4 thoughts on “The Writer

  1. Congrats on 150, girl!! That is so exciting and quite the accomplishment. But more importantly…YOU’RE WRITING A BOOK?!?! Holy amazing, Batman! I cannot wait to read it! Coming from someone who has been through the whole writing process, it can get frustrating as all get out at times. And writer’s block is sadly very real. And it sucks. But as Dory once said, “Just keep swimming. And writing.” You’ve got this, hon!

Leave a Reply

