Tis the Season

It’s beginning to look (and feel) a lot like Christmas!

And like the child I am at heart I couldn’t be more excited. Every year I spend countless hours putting together and crafting gifts for my loved ones and for the first time in years I’m actually right on schedule.

I love everything about the season, from the overplayed Christmas Music (with the exception of “Simply Having a Wonderful Christmas Time” … I hate that song to the fiery depths of my soul) to the decorations.

snowcase

Craft Beer Advent Calender?! Yes, Please!! http://www.snowcasecalendar.com/

I love the look on my family’s faces as they open the presents I have made them, and the way my parents stick to tradition while not letting things ever feel stale. I love that my brother and sister’s birthdays surround Christmas so that all of the major events happen so close together (even if my wallet doesn’t love this).

I love my Craft Beer Advent Calendar which I have peeked in every morning before work, putting my daily beer in the fridge to enjoy when I get home.

But most of all, I love the general spirit of the season.

Christmas and all of the days leading up to it are something I adore and look forward to each and every year and this year is no exception.

I even decorated my office!

I even decorated my office!

Finally after the travesty that was 2014 (Bitter? No, I’m just unsweetened!) I can begin to put everything behind me and move forward. It’s an exciting feeling, and one that I am relishing.

So deck the halls and pour me some egg nog because this girl is in the spirit!

Now, without further ado, here are my top five favourite Porter Family Christmas Traditions:

  • Christmas Breakfast: My family starts off every Christmas by opening our stockings and then taking a break from presents so my Mom and Dad can make an amazingly epic Christmas Breakfast while we children lounge about and either play a board game or just chat. It’s always so lovely and splits the day up quite nicely.
  • Santa Presents: Even though we are all grown up my Mom still gives us “Santa Presents” each year, and this is a tradition I have even adopted in my own relationships (this year Santa is giving Kevin and me a board game).
  • Appies in the Evening: Rather than spend all of Christmas day cooking my family has always eaten assorted appies for dinner on Christmas. Rolls, puffs, veggies and cheese! It’s a delight.
  • Christmas Eve Mass: I am not a very religious person (and I won’t get into a religious discussion) but I love Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve. It’s beautiful.
  • Christmas with Frank Mills and Friends: This is the soundtrack of my childhood and my absolute all-time favourite Christmas CD.
West Coast Snow Fall

West Coast Snow Fall

2 thoughts on “Tis the Season

  1. This is so great! I love learning and hearing about the traditions that people have around Christmas time. I think that’s what really makes it so special; getting together with family and friends, sharing laughs and smiles, and upholding longstanding traditions from years (and sometimes generations) prior–and even creating new traditions! My family has some of our own: we go to the candlelight service at our church (which I LOVE!!), make homemade pizzas, play board games and open the gifts that we got each other on Christmas eve. Then on Christmas, we open up our gifts from “Santa”–my parents still do this too and I think it’s wonderful and I fully intend on carrying this out when I have kiddos of my own–and then head on over to my aunt’s house to be with the rest of the crazy Hansen family. So much magic, so much fun and so much love!! ❤

Leave a Reply

