My Boyfriend, The Serial Killer?

Kevin would probably hate me writing about him, but seeing as how he doesn’t (usually) read this blog, and he is out of the country right now, I think it’s fair to say that I get a pass this time. Especially since today is his birthday.

Happy Birthday, Kevin!

To commemorate this special occasion I have decided to tell a quick story about the time we met Penn and Teller. (Notice how I said that so nonchalantly? As if we run into celebrities all the time and it’s a regular occurrence for us to just have photo ops with famous people? … Yeah, that’s a bit misleading.)

1977174_10153942281905177_1764872772_n

Mmm. If this is what Liver Damage tastes like than I like it!

Kevin and I were in Vegas last February and on our last night we went to see Penn and Teller’s show at the Flamingo. I’m not going to lie, it was wickedly cool. I have been a huge fan of Penn and Teller’s ever since I was a wee young’un and it was unbelievably surreal to be sitting in the audience, watching them on stage, their overpriced signature cocktails in hand.

The moment that Teller performed his famous balloon trick blew my mind and ended up being my favourite Vegas memory. Penn’s rant about psychics and charlatans stirred my heart. And the bullet finale? Well that was just super cool.

After the show we were buzzing from the excitement of the performance and the several ounces of hard liquor sloshing around inside us and together we eagerly waited for Penn and Teller, cameras in hand and thrilled to get a chance to meet them.

Teller came first, playing the crowd and snapping selfies left, right and centre (I have yet to see or meet anyone who is better at the Selfie than Teller). We watched in awe, Kevin laughing at me as I turned into a Fan Girl.

And then it was our turn.

I took a moment to gush to Teller, telling him about my first Magic Memory when I watched his performance on television with my Dad. He made a joke about me being young. It was glorious.

Then we all settled in to take the picture, me edging close to Teller and Kevin … well …

“Wow!” exclaimed Teller, directing all of his attention to Kevin. “You’ve got this kind of Serial Killer vibe going. Very creepy.” And then he snapped the photo and moved on to the next group of fans, leaving the two of us giggling (me) and stunned (Kevin).

Teller, the adorable mute half of the Penn and Teller duo, had just told my boyfriend he seemed like a serial killer.

I probably would have giggled less if this had been the first time this had happened.

Well, to be accurate, I suppose it was the first time that a celebrity of some sorts had said this to Kevin, but it wasn’t the first time it had been said to him.

And it was hilarious.

1920195_10153942282100177_527288566_n

Kevin the Killer lurks behind, smiling sinisterly as he waits, his arm stretched across blocking any chance of escape.

PS. Happy Birthday, Kevin. For what it’s worth, I don’t think you are sociopathic in the slightest. With all my heart, SMRP.

 

4 thoughts on “My Boyfriend, The Serial Killer?

Leave a Reply

