Further Acceptance of Addiction (or, I really love Board Games)

So. Let’s make this clear right off the bat to spare both of us any embarrassment. I know you have absolutely no interest in what I am about to post. I know that board game reviews are best left to the experts (or at least the people with accounts at Board Game Geek). Honest, I know all this.

But I don’t really care.

It’s my blog and I’ll post a list if I want to. Get it? Got it? Good!

So, without further ado, I bring to you dear reader a list of my “All Time Top Five Favourite Board Games!” And, to show how much I care, a bonus list of my least favourite games (and they don’t just suck because I lose all the time … At least that’s not the only reason they suck.)

  1. Small World: You must leave these lands! At first glance Small World looks a lot like Risk. Luckily it is nothing like Risk. It’s adorable and aggressive at the same time and it is probably one of our most played board games.
  2. Pandemic: SAVE THE WORLD RIGHT NOW FROM ALL OF THE DISEASES OR EVERYONE YOU HAVE EVER LOVED WILL DIE AND IS PROBABLY DYING RIGHT THIS SECOND! This game was our first co-op game and it is honestly my favourite. It’s super intense, and unbelievably difficult. (The sweet spot is 3 players, that’s where it starts to seem possible to save the world.)
  3. Lord of the Rings: The Confrontation: I’m not going to lie, we definitely listen to the Lord of the Rings soundtracks as we play this game. It’s basically Stratego but much, much better. The variant version kicks serious ass. Lord of the Rings: The Confrontation is my favourite 2 player game.
  4. Ticket to Ride: Europe: I love trains! And colours! And geography!
  5. Sentinels of the Multi-Verse: So, this game is technically meant for 3 players or more, but we each play 2 characters which allows us to bypass this. It’s pretty great, a super intense super hero co-op game. Definitely worth looking into, even if it’s just for the comic backstories.

And now for some dishonorable mentions:

  1. Island Siege: The game was actually kind of fun, but super aggressive. I mean, it’s honestly impossible to win without destroying your opponent. Boo.
  2. Munchkin Quest: So, I love Munchkins. Honestly. It’s awesome, funny, and very easy to pick up. But the board game is confusing as hell and we still haven’t managed to play it complete through. (Though I imagine once we finally get the hang of it the game will be removed from this list.)
  3. Rivals for Catan: Settlers for Catan the card game built for two? There is a reason this game ranks so highly on Interactivity’s Divorce-O-Meter. It is awful! Awful, awful, awful and I hate it forever. (Can you sense my bitterness?)
  4. Lord of the Rings: (by Reiner Knizia) So, apparently this game is better if you have four players, but since we have no friends and usually play games as a twosome, this game sucked. Seriously, it was impossible. And not the fun “impossible” feeling you get when playing Pandemic, but the aggravating impossible feeling you get when you know your efforts are futile.

photo

 

 

4 thoughts on “Further Acceptance of Addiction (or, I really love Board Games)

  1. This is awesome!!!! I share you love/slight obsession with board games, girl! I was actually looking for some new games to try out. I’m throwing a New Year’s Eve party and I thought it’d be cool to have a sort of epic game night (I like to party hard). I will definitely have to try some of these out! 🙂

  2. Small world and Pandemic definitely rank among our favourites, though some of our friends disagree, and after a weekend of playing One Night over and over and over again, that one is definitely ranking in our top 10 😀

Leave a Reply

