Overcoming OCD (Or, Driving Myself Nuts)

Dear Reader,

I can’t tell you how nuts it makes me that my big announcement, The (Western) Canadian blog reveal, was my 109th post. It honestly makes every fibre of my OCD being cringe, so much so that I almost wrote a second filler post on Thursday just to change this.

But I didn’t.

Why? Because I am trying to overcome my neurotic tendencies.

I wish I could say that I am satisfied with my progress, that I am thrilled to have overcome my love of even numbers (or multiples of five and duplicates). But I can’t. Honestly. I just twitch every time I look at the numbered posts in my WordPress Dashboard barely resisting the urge to backdate a post and change it.

109.

One hundred and nine.

There is nothing appealing about this number. I suppose I can content myself with the knowledge that the first digit and the last digit added together make the number 10? 10 is a perfectly acceptable number and meets not one but two of my “what makes a good number” criteria. But somehow this just feels like grasping?

Alas, I suppose progress is progress regardless of how mental it makes you.

In other news, as I am sure you have noticed (or not, I have no idea how observant you are), triSARAHtops has undergone a few changes in formatting and style. I have also added some new categories and edited the old ones. This wasn’t for any particular reason, mind you, I am just a bit bored with my old set up.

Ok. That’s a lie. I am hoping to make it more “eye-catching” in a vain attempt to gain more followers (or at least encourage Kevin to start reading it). The fact that I have 17 subscribers drives me almost as nuts as my 109th post.
(Disclaimer: I adore and am thankful for each and every one of my 17 subscribers. Honestly, you folks are brilliant and obviously have very good taste in literature. And I bet you dress well too! No, my annoyance has nothing to do with any of you. I just hate the number 17.)

But never fear dear reader! My disdain for the number 17 won’t stop me from writing for you twice a week.

Until next time, mon ami!

PS. Does saying something in French make me sound more sophisticated? Or just pretentious? And are the two mutually exclusive?

Leave a Reply

