Nostalgia

If my 19 year old self knew that my 27 year old self would find staying up past 10pm “a late night”, my 19 year old self would have found a way to not grow up.

It’s true. I have changed so much in the last few years. Honestly, I’m sure a large part of it is because I moved back to Victoria, stopped being single, and started taking work seriously (also known as growing up). But the changes still surprise me.

Gone are my days of drinking wine alone out of the bottle while powering through hours of the Disney Channel and eating my weight in Fuzzy Peaches until the wee hours of the morning. Instead I now power through whatever looks interesting on Netflix, avoid fuzzy peaches like the delicious downfall they are, and drink wine with Kevin. (Kevin makes me drink from a glass. Jerk.)

One would think that I’d be pleased by these changes and I suppose I am. Still, part of me is nostalgic for late night Oreo runs in my PJs to the 24 hour Shoppers Drug Mart down the street. I sometimes long for the after work liquor store stops, buying enough wine for a dinner party of ten (two nights in a row) while avoiding eye contact with the semi-cute cashier. Now that I am in my late twenties (*gasp*) I have romanticized those days of my youth, forgetting all the misery and health issues (probably stemming from my diet of Miss Vicky’s and beer, followed by fruit gummies and wine with the occasional carrot thrown in the mix for good measure). I have glossed over the nights of crying into my chocolate milk, forgotten the days of -25 weather and mosquitoes (though blissfully those two things never occurred at the same time). My five years in Edmonton were such a defining experience in my life and, in my aging mind, they were glorious.

Now I spend my time hanging out with one of my two friends or Kevin, generally getting a fair amount of exercise (though, as previously mentioned, I avoid any kind of exercise that might slim down the middle. I enjoy my spare tire, it saves money on belts.), or sitting at home browsing Pinterest while pretending to do my accounting homework.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still the same comic reading, sci-fi/B-movie loving, dork who spends time looking up dinosaur videos and funny cat pictures on the internet. I’m just a more responsible one. (In other words, my internet browsing stops at ten pm when I pass out on my couch, rather than taking me deep into the night.)

Ah, growing pains.

chickennostalgic

Back in the Day

Leave a Reply

