Dear Bryan Singer,

X-Men: Days of Future Past is a story that is very dear to me. From the first time I saw it on the X-Men TV series (which I still watch to this day) to my first reading of the original 1980s comic series I have loved this story. It’s kind of a big deal. I know there are a lot of people out there who feel the same. (It wasn’t voted the 25th best marvel story arc for nothing!)

Which brings me to my point:

Bryan Singer, please don’t fuck it up.

Seriously. Please.

From the moment the movie was first announced I have been on a roller coaster of high hopes and also much trepidation.

I like what I’ve seen so far. The set pictures of the Sentinels look all kinds of cool (you get an A+ for that one). The fact that Chris Claremont was a consultant on the script is very comforting. He knows these characters and hopefully you took that into account. I love the casting. (Well, sort of. I could have done without Halle Berry. Her time has passed.)  The set up at the end of The Wolverine was delightful. Also, your work on X-Men and X2 is not to be ignored. And, on a purely fan girl note, I think the new posters are amazing.

But I’m a bit concerned after seeing the trailer.

You see, I am worried that, after the sheer amazing-ness of X-Men First Class, this movie is going to suffer from the same problems that X-Men 3 did. Too many characters! Too many plot points! Just too much of everything!

Subtlety is not overrated. In fact it’s appreciated.

X-Men 3 didn’t just ruin the Dark Phoenix Saga (arguably one of the best story arcs of all time). It also destroyed my faith in comic book movie adaptations … something that wasn’t restored until Iron Man hit theatres. And even after the Marvel Studios adaptations, I still feel anxiety every time I park my butt in the movie theatre seats. I have never fully recovered. (To be fair, Spiderman 3 also shares a lot of the blame on this one.)

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve gotten used to Hollywood taking all that I hold dear from my childhood and ripping it to shreds (thank you, George Lucas).

But please, please don’t ruin this.

Respect the fans. Ignore the “Go Big or Go Home” adage. In a world where a new super hero movie comes out every season it’s easy to fall into the trap of mediocrity. But this is your chance to shine! Days of Future Past is an opportunity to do something really amazing (it really is a fantastic story arc with so much potential to be a fantastic movie).

Just please don’t ruin it.

Thank you for your consideration and I will see you on May 23rd.

Sincerely,

SMRP.

So much potential!

Dear Bryan Singer: A Plea(se)

Leave a Reply

