The Truth? You can’t handle the truth!

Brace yourself, dear reader, this statement may come as a bit of a shock to you: I am not an assertive person.

I know, I know. Your jaw just hit the floor, but it’s true. I do indeed lack a take-charge attitude. That aggressive determination I so frequently exude? It’s a sham. Please take a moment to process this. I know your mind has officially been blown. However honesty is the best policy and I must tell you, I feel so much better getting this off my chest.

I can stop pretending now.

I can finally admit that Nike’s motto of “Just Do It” gives me panic attacks. I will no longer break out into a cold sweat when a person asks me my opinion. And, most importantly, I can stop being ashamed when the sheer number of choices for Blizzard Toppings at DQ paralyzes me. Do I really want Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups? Or should I go for the Pineapple? And what about Oreos? WHAT ABOUT OREOS?!

* deep breath *

From this day forward I will embrace my indecisiveness. I will no longer be embarrassed when every time I speak my sentence ends in a verbal ellipses because I can’t decide what I really want to say. I will be proud when I take an hour to decide what I want to eat for lunch, only to change my mind the waitress comes to take the order.

It’s all rather liberating.

ANXIETY! CHOICES! OPTIONS! … Shit.
One thought on “The Truth? You can’t handle the truth!

Leave a Reply

