Drunken Diss

To the drunken man who called me beautiful this morning, and then followed it with a squint and an “ish”, I say Thank You.

You want details?

Of course you do, or you wouldn’t still be reading.

This morning on my walk from the bus stop to the office door I was stopped with a “Good Morning” greeting by a drunken man. He was slumped against a concrete flower bed, the smell of stale booze and staler sweat waking me up better than any coffee. I nodded in greeting and continued walking when he spoke again.

“You’re quite beautiful”, said my new drunken friend. I started to smile and opened my mouth to say Thank You, as is polite, when he squinted, tilted his head to the left and continued with “ish”, his hand out in a so-so gesture.

Well, beautiful-ish is better than nothing.

Ah, the perks of working on Gorge Road.

2 thoughts on “Drunken Diss

  1. David has the biggest grin on his face right now. Said to tell you that one day you’ll meet a nice bum who will appreciate you for your personality.

    Poor girl. Did you kick him?

    • Ah, I can always count on my brother to love me (or love my pain, either or :P)
      I just laughed actually.
      There is nothing quite like a drunken man at 7:30 in the morning to put a gal in her place.

      Miss you both!

Leave a Reply

