Dust(y) Off: Confession Time

I have a confession to make.

I have always thought that Dusty Springfield was the same person as Slim Dusty (of “A Pub with No Beer” fame). I know, I know, how could I possibly confuse an international star like Slim Dusty with the little known Dusty Springfield? It’s embarrassing.

The first time I heard ‘him’ sing “Son of a Preacher Man” was an almost holy experience for me (oh, Pulp Fiction). I never wondered how he was able to get his voice that high, instead I marveled at his incredible range. Slim Dusty Springfield wasn’t just a performer in my eyes. He was THE performer.

It wasn’t until recently, while drinking and listening to Dusty sing “Wishin’ and Hopin’” that I learned the truth.

Friend: “I love Dusty!”
Me: “Ditto! If you love this song, you’ll love his version of Waltzing Matilda! It’s wonderful!”
Friend: “Yeah!” pause. “Wait, what?”
Me: “You know, Waltzing Matilda? He does an amazing –“
Friend: “You do realize we are listening to Dusty Springfield.” I nod, looking superior. “Dusty Springfield is a girl.”

We argued for a bit before agreeing to settle things the only way we knew how. It took Google 0.07 seconds to prove me wrong. I lost more than $5 that night, I lost an idol.

On the bright side, so many of my conversations in Australia now make a lot more sense.

Leave a Reply

