Enough Already with the Melancholy! (or, Privileges of Prairie Living)

Panic attack aside, I suppose we all need to grow up sometime.

My move back to the West Coast is fast approaching and it is mindboggling how quickly the time has gone by. With only a month and a half left I am finally realizing the consequences of my decision. My entire post-high school life has been lived out here. College. Breakups. The finale of Gilmore Girls. How does one leave this behind?

I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on the soon to be nostalgic moments of my Prairie life. There are so many things I will remember fondly as I block out the miserable memories of -40 and bed bugs. I have so many memories from what now seems like a short four and a half year stint; too many memories to list.

But my OCD won’t let me leave this alone.

Instead I am left with a list of things I will miss the most, in no particular order. I bring to you, my friend, the Privileges of Prairie Living:

1)      Whyte Avenue and my False Sense of Popularity: as a side effect of working on the avenue I am constantly running into people I know. I loved this whenever Victoria friends came to visit; it made me seem so much more popular.

2)      The High Level Bridge at night: Standing on the High Level at night, with the stars out and city lit up, will probably be my most vivid memory of Edmonton.

3)      Bad Movie Nights: there is something to be said about deliberately watching “bad” movies. Listening to Tana and the guys’ running commentary is even funnier than an evening at Chimprov.

4)      Artisan and O’Byrnes (especially my hard earned and extremely precarious “Bro Status”): Breakfast and Pub Times with the boys, quoting Aqua Teen Hunger Force and telling bad jokes while watching them (attempt to) hit on the waitresses. +5 for awesomeness.

5)      The Elmhurst: the most epic apartment building and tenants of all time. (Also, Telephone Pictionary and Zak’s comic book collection for the win).

6)      My roommates (especially when accompanied by Hot Chocolate and Bailey’s)

7)      Improv! Festivals! Pretending I am Cultured!: I love, love, love the sheer number of things going on in this city.

8)      Nerding it Up, TV on DVD Style with Jeff/Geoff/Tana/Tim: Entire evenings (or days) spent watching BSG, Doctor Who, Dead Zone and Chuck (always watching “just one more episode”).

9)      Prairie Thunder Storms: we do get electrical storms in Victoria, but they are nothing like the ones out here.

10)   Monday Night Yoga and Cocktails with Nicole

I am notoriously indecisive and have, though I’m embarrassed to admit it, spent the last few weeks sure that something would happen and I wouldn’t end up leaving (as has happened for the last two years). Now, with 41 boxes of my stuff gathering dust in Victoria, I’ve had to realize that I actually am moving. This is really happening.

“Hello Point of No Return, I am pleased to make your acquaintance. Please excuse me while I breathe into this paper bag for the next half hour.”

 

Leave a Reply

